THE HONOURABLE JOHN WINSTON HOWARD OM AC

Citation for the conferral of Doctor of the University (*honoris causa*)

Chancellor, it is a privilege to present to you and to this gathering, for the award of Doctor of the University (*honoris causa*), the Honourable John Winston Howard OM AC.

The Honourable John Howard is an Australian politician who served as the 25th Prime Minister of Australia from 11 March 1996 to 3 December 2007. He is the second-longest serving Australian Prime Minister after Sir Robert Menzies.

Mr Howard was a member of the House of Representatives from 1974 to 2007, representing the Division of Bennelong, New South Wales. He served as Treasurer in the Fraser government from 1977 to 1983 and was Leader of the Liberal Party and Coalition Opposition from 1985 to 1989, which included the 1987 federal election against Bob Hawke.

Mr Howard was re-elected as Leader of the Opposition in 1995. He led the Liberal-National coalition to victory at the 1996 federal election, defeating Paul Keating's Labor government and ending a record 13 years of Coalition opposition. The Howard Government was re-elected at the 1998, 2001 and 2004 elections, presiding over a period of strong economic growth and prosperity.

During his term as Prime Minister, Mr Howard was a supporter of Charles Sturt University and its work in addressing the needs of rural communities.

Mr Howard was integral to the development of local solutions to address the chronic shortage of dentists and oral health professionals in rural and regional Australia. During his term, Mr Howard was a proponent for the establishment of dental schools in rural and regional Australia including at Charles Sturt University in Orange and Wagga Wagga and La Trobe University in Bendigo.

The new program commenced in 2009 with pre-clinical and clinical facilities in Orange (dentistry) and Wagga Wagga (oral health) and Dental Education Clinics in Albury-Wodonga, Bathurst and Dubbo.

Mr Howard received the Woodrow Wilson Award from the Woodrow Wilson Center of the United States Smithsonian Institution in 2005.

B'nai B'rith International bestowed its Presidential Gold Medal on Mr Howard in 2006, and in 2008 he received the Irving Kristol Award, the highest award of the American Enterprise Institute, and also the Commonwealth Award of Distinguished Service in Government.

In January 2008, Mr Howard was appointed a Companion of the Order of Australia (AC) "for distinguished service to the Parliament of Australia, particularly as Prime Minister and through contributions to economic and social policy reform, fostering and promoting Australia's interests internationally, and the development of significant philanthropic links between the business sector, arts and charitable organisations".

On 1 January 2012, Mr Howard was invested as a Member of the Order of Merit (OM) by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II. He has been awarded the Centenary Medal, the Star of the Solomon Islands (SSI), and the Presidential Medal of Freedom by the President of the United States George W. Bush.

Mr Howard was awarded an Honorary Doctorate from Bond University, Queensland, an Honorary Doctor of Letters from Macquarie University, New South Wales, and an Honorary Doctorate from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel for "outstanding statesmanship and leading role on the world stage in promoting democracy and combating international terrorism" and his "remarkable understanding of, and exceptional support for, the State of Israel and his deep friendship with the Australian Jewish community".

Chancellor, I present to you the Honourable John Winston Howard OM AC, a man on whom Charles Sturt University is proud to confer the award Doctor of the University *(honoris causa).*

Dated this Sixteenth Day of December Two Thousand and Fourteen